Wenger Tax Service
Home Page


Eba-hoops.com Highlights Youth Tournament With High School Division Championship
July 12, 2014
By Morgan Wenger
Tournament Director

28 teams entered the youth divisions of the Dawg Days Basketball tournament this year, and four new champions were crowned. The divisions were High School (entering grades 9-12), Biddy Ball (entering grades 7-8), Junior (entering grades 5-6), and Puppy (entering grades 3-4). Each youth team played a minimum of four games in the tournament.

From Home Page The High School division champions were eba-hoops.com. They went undefeated in pool play, and finished the day by winning their two tournament games to earn the title. Their toughest competition came from the Inner City Ballers and Orrville. Eba-hoops.com defeated the Inner City Ballers for the championship. Championship team members were Thomas Woods, Justice Craig, Raybon Lewis, and Jason Steele. Making the title even more impressive is the fact that eba-hoops.com was made up of exclusively rising sophomores. Marquise Blair, of the Inner City Ballers, led the division in scoring with 14.6 ppg.

The Biddy Ball division crown went to Team IGB. They went 6-0 on the day and defeated the previously unbeaten Future All Americans 30-22 in the championship game. Eba-hoops.com gave both of the top teams tough games during pool play. The winners team consisted of Trevor Ferriman, Shane Smith, Devin Myers, and Kevin Bishop. Nathan Snipes, of eba-hoops.com, was the division’s leading scorer at 9.7 ppg.

The most populated and competitive youth division was the Junior division. The Tropics won the championship after earning the #5 seed on the bracket. They were part of a four way tie for second place going into the tournament behind an undefeated Hiland team. They defeated Details 30-24, Hiland 30-28, and Waynedale 30-13 on their way to the title. The JZNR Wreckers performed admirably as well, going 4-2 on the day. The Tropics included Ezra Miller, Nehemiah Miller, Dillon Horst, and Adam Jarrett. Detail’s Jalen Wenger led the division in scoring with 16 ppg.

For the second straight year, the most thrilling finish came in the Puppy division. Your Mom’s Favorite Team upset the #2 seed Dalton Orange in the semis, and then defeated previously unbeaten Dalton White 30-28 in the finals on a dramatic three pointer from Grayson Steury. Championship team members included Grayson Steury, Kamden Mowry, Parker Grissinger, and Keslar Bates. Braylon Wenger, of Dalton White, led the division in scoring with 21.3 ppg.

Dawg Days Home