Wenger Tax Service
Home Page


EBA Hoops and Ohio Storm Capture Youth Titles
July 11, 2015
By Morgan Wenger
Tournament Director

15 teams entered the youth divisions of Dawg Days Basketball 2015. The Biddy Ball division featured teams with rising 7th and 8th graders, and the Junior division was comprised of players entering 5th and 6th grade. Each youth team played a minimum of 5 games.

From Home Page Pool play in the Biddy Ball division ended with two four way ties. The Tropics, Ohio Storm, Dalton Bobcats, and Louisville Leopards were all 3-1 entering tournament play, while Waynedale, EBA Hoops, Wooster, and Perry entered the bracket at 1-3. Ohio Storm was able to avenge an earlier, pool play, loss to the Tropics by defeating them 30-20 in the semifinals to advance to the championship. The Dalton Bobcats breezed through their side of the bracket to set up a rematch of a hotly contested pool play game in the finals. After erasing an early 12-2 deficit and trailing for virtually the entire game, Ohio Storm was able to claw out a hard fought 30-29 win in the most competitive championship game of the tournament. Championship team members were Logan Cornelius, Logan Kotulock, Max Kubiak, and Coby Stough. Jalen Wenger, of EBA Hoops, led the division in scoring at 18.4 ppg.

Dalton Orange breezed through pool play in the Junior division to earn the #1 seed and first round bye in the tournament with a 4-0 record. They were able to withstand a formidable challenge from Wooster in the semifinal round to advance to the championship game vs EBA Hoops. EBA Hoops' road to the finals included wins against the Baby Faced Assassins and the Ohio Hoopers. EBA Hoops jumped out to an early 12-2 lead in the title game and never looked back, winning by a final of 30-14. Championship team members were Javar Simpson, Chris Smith, Braylon Wenger, and Jalen Wenger. Jalen Wenger led the division in scoring at 15.3 ppg.

Dawg Days Home